Star Trek XI

A peek above the garters for Dr. BA for bringing this to my attention!

I’m not sure how I managed to miss the news, but I did. (Probably because everyone in it will have hair…)

Well, Viacom/Paramount or whatever they call themselves these days has made it official: Star Trek XI is a real project, and it really is a prequel, and it really will have Kirk/Spock/McCoy in the early days, and it really will be directed by J J Abrams, despite repeated earlier denials and all the ridiculous stuff Hollywood does when they don’t want news to break early.

So who will star? The rumors are flying, but my favorite is: Matt Damon, Adrian Brody, and Gary Sinise as K/S/M, respectively. That may be a joke, but I have to say it’s a really good call, and in fact I wouldn’t have any problems seeing these three as The Three. I really like Matt Damon, who is a phenomenal and very natural actor. He’d be great as Kirk.

I hope it does better than Enterprise did. As much as I did enjoy the first and last seasons of Enterprise, it didn’t do much good for the franchise in the middle. I attribute that to what was going on behind the camera, certainly not a lack of talent in front of it. I’m sort of afraid that this will go the same way.

I’m also a little disappointed at the idea of a prequel, though. I’d really like to see the franchise return to going where no one has gone before.

Pop over to the BA post, though. Dr. BA has a great video up of William Shatner poking a little fun at himself and at George Lucas. Very funny stuff.

4 Comments

  1. I remember a while back that the rumor was Ben Affleck would be playing Kirk. How’s that for weird?

  2. That is pretty weird, since those two parter up so often!

    Been missing your smiling face ’round these parts.

    Kisses,
    Kate

  3. I’m thinking I was there at the birth of this garter peeking thing..

  4. I think you’re right Rich. Want a peek?

    **flashes Rich**


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.